top of page
  • Writer's pictureShannon Keegan, Mezzo-Soprano

June Daily Poetry Challenge 2022

1

I am tired

I am tired

I am tired

I Sleep fitfully

Wake restlessly

I am tired

I am tired

I am tired


2

My voice leaves me

When it has had enough

When I don’t give enough back

When I forget to feed and water it

I goes away

Until I coax it out again

With treats


3


4



5

Oh to be a horse on a hill


6


7


8


9


10


11

There is music you make happen

And music that happens to you


12


13


14

My favorite thing about being an

Opera singer is that I get to stay a kid for just a little longer and sit in the floor with my friends in rehearsal

15


16


17


18


19


20


21


22


23


24



25

All that I strive to be on this earth

Is kind


26

I think about the day I run out of words

I think about the day they cease to come

I think about the day where I have painted every image

With every word in my brain

And they no longer spill out

The hemorrhage, the wound

Bound up

And I no longer need the words

Will I have 80 years

Or ten

Or maybe tomorrow I will lose them

Will I be grateful for their loss

Or will it just be another wound

Spilling out something else


27

Breathlessly

Does it kill you to know that she’s into me

I just can’t take the proximity


28

The lights on the stage managers coms

Look like eyes in the dark


29


30

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page